Resident Evil Requiem

It has been only some weeks since Resident Evil Requiem was released. The game has sold already millions of copies worldwide. I decided to pick up the generation bundle which included also Resident Evil 7 and 8. It did cost some 20 euros more but I am glad that I got my copy as soon as the game was released. This time I didn’t have any problems with the delivery. I don’t know if I am going and when I am going to play the other RE games included. I did decide to install Final Fantasy VII Remake Integrade after I finished this game. I soon noticed that it takes 90 GB of space on my Switch 2. That is a bit much since I only have a memory card that holds 256 GB at the moment. So, I might have to buy a larger one soon. I don’t know what I will have to do with all the data and if I am able to setup the larger memory but I guess I’ll figure it out one way or another.

FFVII Remake Integrade is right now installing. This game is getting installed as a “game key card”. This format is something that has become more and more familiar for the users of Switch 2. The format is a bit boring. It does require the card for the installation but holds only so little data in it that you are going to need to rely on your internet connection to actually download the game and finally install it. This is done this way because the card can only hold a limited amount of data. So, it is a physical copy while actually not being a fully physical copy at all.

But now lets get back to Resident Evil Requiem. It is the ninth game in the main series. We did saw some remakes of classic RE games just a while ago. Resident Evil Requiem is a great game. I did spend eleven hours playing it and I finally finished it just today. There are parts of the game that you play with Leon that are kind of action type of part of the game and then you play some survival type of parts with another character called Grace. I think the game is something that fans of the series will definitely like. Also, if you are new to the series I think you will like this game and you might want to check out some earlier stuff in the series. I can recommend playing some PS1 titles as they still hold up even today.

The action and survival parts of Resident Evil Requiem differ in that that you get more ammo and there are more monsters attacking you in the action part while playing with Grace in survival parts requires some stealth skills and tactics since there is not so much ammunition and you will have to think about when you are actually saving your progress. I only played the game on an easy level of difficulty but I think there is more value in this game that can inspire you to play the game through again with maybe a bit more difficult degree.

What more there is to say about Resident Evil Requiem? The graphics look very beautiful on Switch 2. There is a bit of an alteration of the camera mode. It gets switched from 3rd person to first person as you change your character that you play with in the game. There’s lots of weapons. There are some puzzles but nothing overwhelming. I think there is a nice balance with action and survival in this game. I would recommend Resident Evil Requiem for almost everyone. This game is very violent and can be upsetting at times. So, beware that this game has been recommended to be played only by persons that are 18 years old or older than that. This is a recommendation. I think the game can be oppressive at times.

My Latest Game Purchase

My latest game purchase, that I collected from the mail locker just yesterday, includes two PS2 games and four PS3 games. I bought Midnight Club 3 – DUB Edition (PS2), Sonic Heroes (PS2), Bayonetta (PS3), Spiderman 3 (PS3), Aliens vs. Predator (PS3) and Need for Speed – Most Wanted (PS3). They did cost me 109 euros with shipping included. I am waiting to have a chance to get into these new purchases. I am going to have to knock on wood while I’m saying that I am glad that my PS3 still works. It has served already over 16 years in my video game setup. I have faced some issues with hardware earlier. I have two broken PS2 consoles, a broken original Xbox and also an Xbox 360 console that doesn’t work.

Somehow these consoles don’t seem to last forever. I am also not so good at maintaining or repairing stuff like these consoles. I think they actually aren’t even meant to last for tens of years. That is the main reason why I am trusting more and more on emulation. So, I am going to rip these two PS2 games that I just bought and play them with an emulator. I have two different devices that I am running emulation on. One is a Raspberry Pi 5 with 8 GB of RAM. It is running Recalbox. I use it to emulate mainly Sega Mega Drive, SNES, NES, PS1 and also some more exciting consoles while I use another device (a desktop PC) that runs Batocera to play PS2 and some other consoles that require a bit more power.

So, there are two racing games included with my latest game purchase. Midnight Club 3 is a classic racing game. There is really no words necessary for the introduction of a game that belongs to Need for Speed series of video games. This title is labled with “Most Wanted”. It think it will be eventually a good game that might take some hours to get into. Usually I have somewhat liked almost every Need for Speed game that I’ve played.

Why did I pick up Bayonetta? I heard a word or two about it as I was reading a book that desrcibes different video game characters. Bayonetta is a strong female character and it seemed an interesting game and I wanted to purhcase it. I am going to try to find some time to get into this game. I also bought Sonic Heroes because Sonic games just rock. I also bought Spiderman 3. I think there are very few bad games that feature Spiderman. So, why not give it a try. The last game in my latest game purhcase that I haven’t yet mention in this paragraph of this blog post is Aliens vs. Predator. It must be a decent first person shooter.

I made this purchase because I found these games interesting. The price was also cheap. I mean I got these six games for a price lower than what it would have been for two new games. Actually I think you couldn’t buy two new games with 110 euros. It might be possible if the games wouldn’t be brand new releases. I am content with yhis game purchase. I am waiting to get to enjoy also these new games.

I have been lately still playing Gran Turismo 3. It takes some time to finish it. I have spent already over 15 hours on playing GT3. The game might take a bit over 40 hours to finish. Also I have a confession to make. I haven’t, yet dived into plaiyng the new Resident Evil game Resident Evil Requiem. I have read that it is a very good game. I am waiting to get into playing it also soon.

Playing Gran Turismo 3

Gran Turismo 3 is a game that I hadn’t played a lot. Now just recently, I think it was yesterday, I figured that I would like to get into this game. Gran Turismo series has always been one of my favorite game series and also in my opinion a very good racing game. I first started playing the first game in this series back when I first bought my PlayStation 1 console. That was back in the end of the 1990s. It was among the first games that I played that were for PS1. I also got to play, back then, a demo version of Resident Evil 2. I liked it so much that I soon had to purchase it.

I am a fan of Resident Evil series also. Just yesterday I got my new copy of Resident Evil 9 (or Requiem). I haven’t played it yet. It might just be a very good game. Somehow playing some Gran Turismo 3 was more important than getting into RE9. That does not make sense in any way. I just think that you must sometimes go with your first initial thoughts and instincts when it comes to matters like what game do you want to play next. That’s just how I feel and think.

Gran Turismo 3 was released originally for PlayStation 2 back in 2001. The first two games in Gran Turismo series were released for PS1. It is very much have been a PlayStation only game. So, it is an exclusive game that you can play only on PlayStation consoles. It has been that way for a long time. It’s like Forza Horizon or Forza Motorsport. They are exclusives of Xbox consoles. While there have been many games ported from console to another, lately, you can say that there are these certain limitations that are still in effect when it comes to Xbox, Nintendo and/or PlayStation games. Also PC can be mentioned when having a debate or conversation like this. I think the limitations are beginning to be small and we are going more and more towards games that are released and can be played on almost any system that does exist or is available. That might be a good thing. It might be a bad thing. Or, it might be something in between.

Gran Turismo 3 offers a bit over 40 hours of playing time. That is way less than the time it tooks to finish Gran Turismo 4. If you are thinking about which one of these two games you are going to try to play first I really don’t have a good advice, at least yet, for you. I started my journey with this franchise with the first Gran Turismo. I wouldn’t advice you to play it today as your first Gran Turismo game since the graphics are somewhat disgusting to look at. Nostalgia cannot save everything. This same advice goes with the second Gran Turismo. I think Gran Turismo 6 or maybe Gran Turismo 7 would be good starting points. If you don’t mind about outdated graphics you should go with Gran Turismo 3 or 4. You with yourself get to decide if you choose 3 or 4. I think they are both great games.

Since I have broke already two PS2 consoles I today play my PS2 games, that I still like very much to play, with Batocera emulation. Last autumn I installed Batocera to my old desktop PC and setup the whole environment for playing PS2 games with that PC. I have it hooked to my television through HDMI connection. I use Xbox Series S/X controller with this retro gaming PC. This seems to be a good way to experience PS2 in 2026. PS2 games are also very easy to rip as they act like your regular DVDs. I use a program called “ImgBurn” to create an image out of the game DVD. Then I just transfer the file to the right directory on my Batocera PC.

All-in-all Gran Turismo 3 is a nice game. The first and yet the only car I have acquired in this game is Mazda MX-5. It is a good first car in the game. I have purchased many updates already to this vehicle. I have unlocked B and A driving licenses. My car has now almost 340 horsepower (or HP). I have played the game, since yesterday, six and a half hours. There is a lot more to play in Gran Turismo 3. I hope to also get to play some Resident Evil Requiem soon.